Friday, November 27, 2009

WCF Bindings

Bindings are pre-packaged channel stacks. WCF provides 12 bindings:

  • basicHttpBinding - WS-I Basic Profile, and ASMX Web Services
  • wsHttpBinding - advanced WS-* Web Services, WS-Security, WS-Transactions
  • wsDualHttpBinding - Duplex Web Services
  • webHttpBinding - REST / POX-based Web Services using XML and JSON.
  • netTcpBinding - communication between two .NET systems
  • netNamedPipeBinding - Communication between one or more .NET Systems.
  • netMsmqBinding - Asynch communication via MSMQ
  • netPeerTcpBinding - P2P networking applications
  • msmqIntegrationBinding - Sending and receiving messages via MSMQ
  • wsFederationHttpBinding - Web Services that use Federated Identity
  • ws2007HttpBinding - same as wsHttpBinding, with enhanced support for changes in 2007
  • ws2007FederationHttpBinding - same as wsFederationHttpBinding, with enhanced support for changes in 2007
Bindings that start with "net" are used to support WCF between .NET applications. Bindings that start with "ws" are used to support interoperability with non .NET applications.

netNamedPipeBinding is for binary, local machine communication only (and consequently has the highest performance metrics). The address will take the following form: net.pipe://localhost/{service}.

netTcpBinding addresses will take the format: net.tcp://{hostname}.

netMsmqBinding addresses will take the form: net.msmq://{hostname}/[private/public]/{queueName}. The default port is 1801 and cannot be changed.

No comments:

Post a Comment